Whether you want to purchase a gun or you are having one, you must make sure that you have the training and correct permits. This will not only help you to be safe but will also keep safe those around you. If you want to carry a gun with you but you do not want it to open carry, then the way to go is a Concealed carry permit. There is a process that you must follow by which you can get a Concealed carry permit.
A lot of states also make it necessary for you to take some classes. This is even recommended even if you do not plan to carry the weapon. The training courses are of around 8 hours and these are provided by the CCW instructor. You can find it through the sheriff’s department or the CCW website of your state. If you are certified already then you may bypass training but if the certification is older than three years then you will have to take another class. If you are a reserve member or active member of the military then you may skip the training.
- Start the process
First of all, you have to make sure that the basic requirements are fulfilled. Then the permit must be obtained so that you can carry the concealed weapon which varies from state to state. Well, irrespective of where you live, there are some of the basic requirements which you have to fulfill necessarily. The most important thing is that you must be of 21 years of age. Then you should have proof of ‘good character’. This will show that you are not convicted yet of any type of felonies like assault or DUI and battery.
- Research for the needed requirements
Besides the basic requirement, there will be a need for the proof of residency required by each state. E.g. in Ohio, every person should be a resident for at least 45 days for the state and 30 days, you should be resident in your home country. For the training and application, you will have to meet the requirements of each state. You need to pay attention to all the requirements because some of the jurisdictions may not accept your application even for some slightest infraction. You may also want that you could talk to those people who have the permit with them already and you can talk to them about their experience. You will get to know where to start.
- Differences in applications
If all the basic requirements for the Maryland Gun Permit Training are met, then you can apply for the permit. There are some differences in the approval of the application process. A lot of states ‘shall issue’ the policies, which meant that the permit will be provided to you if all the requirements are met by you. Then there are some states which have ‘may issue’ policies that mean that your permit application may get denied even after you fulfill all the requirements. Such judgments are made on a case to case basis. The states which have ‘may issue’ policy include Hawaii, New York, California, Virgin Islands, Connecticut, New Jersey, District of Columbia, Maryland, Delaware, and Massachusetts. Even there are some places in the united states where Concealed carry is not permitted. These include the N. Mariana Islands and American Samoa.
- Background check
You can get your background check done by sending your fingerprints to the BCI or Bureau of Criminal Identification. For getting the fingerprinted, you can very easily set up the appointment with local law enforcement or you can call them. They must provide you with the fingerprinting card and you can also get them printed offline. This will take only 10-15 minutes. Once you finish this, then your prints should be sent for checking by the department.
Fill Your Application
You must learn about the application process of your state so that every step is completed by you. This process is also different in various states so before filling check for the requirements of the state. There will be an application that you have to fill provided by your state. With the application, attach a copy of the driving license and also a photograph. You must also get your background check done, firearm certification and fingerprints. Your state may require some different proofs like the proof of residency. It may take 30-60 days to get the permit. In this period, do not take the concealed weapon if it’s considered illegal in your area without the permit. While some states also allow you to carry the weapon but the official website must be checked by you for more information.